More on Whisky Fringe and PC8

Whisky Fringe’s tasting in 2009 included 200 whiskies, and the winner was based on the public’s voting, not that of whisky “experts.” Bruichladdich’s Port Charlotte 8-year-old (“Ar Dùthchas,” or “Land of Our Fathers”) won it all.

I love it that a major whisky tasting happened in a church. Only in Scotland, I guess. 🙂 Come to that, I wonder if I could open a branch of that church here in California?

I was really impressed with PC5 and PC6, and based on Jim Murray’s ratings, I can’t wait to taste PC7, which he gave a very slightly better rating than the PC6. Bruichladdich has to be congratulated for executing so well on resurrecting Port Charlotte. It should be an excellent dram for years to come. For 40 ppm phenol content, it’s very drinkable and exceptionally well balanced (speaking of PC6, the oldest I’ve tasted).

2 Comments»

  Twitted by whisky2dot0 wrote @

[…] This post was Twitted by whisky2dot0 […]

[…] More on Whisky Fringe and PC8 « Tom’s “Officially Unofficial” Bruichladdich Blog bruichladdichblog.wordpress.com/2009/08/23/more-on-whisky-fringe-and-pc8 – view page – cached #RSS 2.0 Tom's "Officially Unofficial" Bruichladdich Blog » More on Whisky Fringe and PC8 Comments Feed Tom's "Officially Unofficial" Bruichladdich Blog First post! Hurricane Bill Heading for Islay — From the page […]


Leave a comment