What’s “Whisky2.0” All About?

From the “About” page on the Whisky2.0 blog:

The Whisky2.0 blog is about taking what I started here on bruichladdichblog.wordpress.com and making it bigger. This means:

  • Industry-wide scope
  • More content
    • Guest bloggers
    • Interviews with industry leaders
    • Organized tastings and meetups, etc.
  • More technology
    • Social networks
    • Collaboration tools

We’re aiming to build a community to share and disseminate information about whisk(e)y. As a relative whisk(e)y neophyte, this is the content I wanted when I was learning about whisk(e)y. I don’t know everything — not even close! — but I like sharing what I know and learn.

This blog is about more than just the facts: It’s about building an enduring self-sustaining community of whisk(e)y enthusiasts. Whisky2.0 was born 25-November-2008. As of 27-December-2008, Whisky2.0 has a presence on Facebook, too. Slainte!

p.s. Slainte is how they say “cheers” in Gaelic. Slainte is pronounced “slahn-cha” (or something very close to that). BTW, please patronize the very cool San Francisco business of the same name.

And from the “How Do I Use This Blog?” page…

I have a blog masquerading as a whisk(e)y database. Or maybe vice-versa. -) Whisky2.0 is a community project and you’re more than welcome to join. WordPress accounts are free.

Again: THIS SITE IS FOR YOU! I built the skeleton, but the community will contribute most of the content.

Here’s the idea: The category cloud contains the names of every currently operational Scotch whisky distillery (and many that are no longer with us). I even listed one in Sweden! Ultimately, I’ll add Irish, American, Japanese, Indian, etc. whiskeys. And if you know of a distillery that I omitted, by all means let me know! Plus each distillery is tagged with the region, e.g., Speyside, Islay, etc. And the country is a tag, too, so the biggest tag (since it’s most frequently used) is Scotland. I tagged non-functional distilleries as “Closed” just to be clear.

I figured I’d start with the most difficult, as ranked by the sheer number of distilleries in a single country. You, the reader, are meant to add comments to each. There is going to be a standard template that will allow you to add info (as much as you know) on any given expression produced by that distillery. Expect that template before the start of 2009, perhaps as soon as 30-Dec-2008.

Finally, please feel free to contact me with content suggestions. If you know a lot about a certain distillery or any whisk(e)y-related subjetc and want to post a story, let me know: I will make that happen. This is a platform for the community, not for me. Ultimately, my goal is for this site to capture the wisdom of the masses and become the reference for all things whisk(e)y.

Also, Whisky2.0 is on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Whisky20/41738507415 and if you feel like it, become a fan. I’m going to try to find a way to point to all the many groups on Facebook that have to do with whisk(e)y.

1 Comment»

[…] WordPress accounts are free. Again: THIS SITE IS FOR YOU! I built the skeleton, but the community will contribute most of the content. More […]


Leave a Reply

